Google Photos: How to hide photos in the “locked” folder

Google rolled out a major feature for Google Photos for all Android devices over the weekend: “Locked Folders” was previously a Pixel-exclusive feature that lets you save sensitive images to a separate folder. In this guide we explain how the locked folder works and how to set it up on Android smartphones.

If you’re like me, your smartphone is an integral part of your life. It would take a lot of WD-40 to get it off my hands. So it is clear that the convenience of the smartphone comes with an unavoidable risk to our privacy.

If you break out in a sweat every time someone browses your gallery, you know exactly what I mean. Google Photos is also a real security risk. Because after setup, every photo you take is usually saved in the photo cloud. There is also a much simpler and more immediate threat: the prying eyes of strangers!

Table of Contents

  1. This is how secure folder is configured
  2. add photos
  3. Where are the images stored?

Maybe you just want to trust someone else with your device for a moment, or post to social media while you’re on the go. But as soon as your galleries preview opens, you will regret it. All your weird memes, or worse, are exposed to the eyes of people who shouldn’t see them.

Google is now solving this problem by bringing the exclusive Pixel feature to all Android smartphones. The locked folder is a secure folder on your device that keeps your private photos away from the cloud, away from other app thumbnails, and most importantly, away from people greedily browsing your galleries.

Prerequisites for using this guide: Any Android device with android 6 or higher and of course the official Google Photos app.

This is how you configure the secure folder in Google Photos

Screenshot 2021 12 06 13 55 41 454 com.google.android.apps.photos

The procedure is quite simple. / © NextPit

Setting up a secure folder is a simple process. Open the Google Photos app and…

  1. Navigated to Gallery > Manage > scroll down to locked folders.
  2. Click Set up a locked folder.
  3. Activate the folder by fingerprint or password.

Then you will be shown basic information about the service. After you have read this, click Continueand you are ready to add images to your secure folder.

This is how you add images to your locked Google Photos folder

Adding images to the locked secure folder is quite easy in itself, but there are a few things you need to keep in mind. The images that you can transfer to the folder must first be in the cloud. Therefore, you can only select photos from synced folders. You can find out how to do this and more in the linked article. Images in the recycle bin must first be restored before they can be moved to the locked folder.

After uploading your photos to the cloud, go to Gallery > Manage > Locked folder > Move items. You can then select the images you want. Tap them individually or select a whole day by tapping the circle in the top left. You can also search for individual photos.

how to move

I apologize for the poor image quality, but the app doesn’t allow screenshots, which is basically a good thing. / © NextPit

Now it’s time Move on, make sure you read the message and click Next > Move > Allow. Then you have to wait for the process to complete. This may take a while and your device may ask you to unlock it again if you don’t interact with the screen for a long time. Don’t worry, the process will continue in the background.

To move an image back to the cloud, select it and click move items. After reading the message, click again Move on and wait for the process to complete.

Danger! if your photos from the locked folder deleteyou want continuous device wipe and NO in the Google Photos folder postponed.

Where are my photos stored?

hidden folder

All my copyrighted memes are safe now! / © NextPit

The Google Photos app transfers your photos from the cloud to a secure folder on your device. After that, the images will be removed from your cloud, which means your protected images will only be accessible through the Google Photos app on the device. Other apps cannot see these images and you must navigate through the secure folder to view them.

To view your locked folder, go to Gallery > Manage > scroll down to Locked folder.

You will then need to use your fingerprint or lock screen password again to access the locked folder. Anyone who knows your screen lock combination can also access this folder. It should also be noted that these images will be lost if you delete the app or reset the smartphone to factory settings. Furthermore, these images Nope it is automatically copied to a new device when you migrate data. To do this, you would have to manually move them from the folder to the cloud and set up the folder on the new device.

More tips for managing your device

What do you think is the safest way to store private images on your phone? Let me know in the comments!